Animation Project

Sam Williams

Sam Williams,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH dd Month 2012 – As the semester is nearing its final third, a lot of my classes are entering their final project stages. For example, in 2D Animation, we’ve been making traditional animations (using paper, pencil, and a light board) all semester. Now, we are beginning a 5-week project that will run from now until finals week. We get to animate anything we want, using what we learned from the previous projects. The finished product should be at least 30 seconds long. I am very excited to begin working on this. I have decided to take up a project idea I had in high school, but was unable to do, due to my lack of animation knowledge. Now that I know what to do, I think I can achieve that dream that I had such a long time ago. I hope it turns out well!

This semester has been going on for quite a long time. It’s almost the end of the fall quarter I’ve been used to for the past three years, so I’m afraid the coming weeks are going to be a little painful. With five classes instead of four and imbalanced workloads as professors try to figure out how semesters are going to work, I’ve been pretty stressed. Sometimes, when I feel like this, I just need to get away. When I want to get away, I go to the GRID Lab in Scott Quad. Nestled in the basement, the GRID Lab is home to the majority of the game design students’ outside-of-class game-making activity. I can go there to work on fun projects, meet with teammates and friends, or just sit alone for a few hours and play games on one of the TV stations they have set up with several of the latest consoles. It’s cool and dark and usually relatively quiet. It’s the perfect place to go and relax for a while. I’m definitely going to need that as the semester extends into the normal fall quarter’s break.

Leave a Reply

