Fall Flights

Grant Rhue

Grant Rhue,
Junior, Aviation

Athens, OH 11 November 2012 – With the temperatures changing and leaves turning, I can tell fall has arrived in Athens. Growing up here, I have seen many fall seasons come and go and it by far is one of my favorite seasons–second only to winter, when the campus gets a nice blanket of snow.

With the season now in full force, my friends and I like to get together and have backyard aviation bonfires and hang out with each other after a long day of classes and flying at the airport. It is one of the best ways for me to unwind after dealing with homework and projects throughout the semester and it helps me keep up with my friends throughout the college. My friends and I will also get together to go skating at Bird Arena during one of the recreational skating session throughout the week when we have free time. We’ll go to the front Room in Baker Center afterword for hot apple caramel cider and warm beverages after a couple hours of skating around.

Finally, my favorite thing that’s great about the fall season for me is getting to go fly and see all of Ohio’s hills and landscape from above to see the trees’ leaves turning while practicing flight maneuvers around the Athens area and southeastern Ohio. For me, getting to see all the landscape in a way that most students don’t ever get to see is something that really makes a major like aviation flight amazing and makes me look forward to my future career as a professional pilot.

ALT

Leave a Reply

