Ping Recreation Center and Wallyball

Weston Martin

Weston Martin,
Junior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 3 December 2012 – During my time here at Ohio University, I have had stressful times as the pace of courses gets busy. One of the things I do to relieve stress is workout to get my mind off of things. Lately I have been going to the weight rooms in Ping Student Rec Center and when time permits, I jump on the ergs (rowing machines) a few times a week. There are two big weight rooms in Ping and too many cardio machines to count. They also have a whole indoor track on the third floor! I think it’s safe to say that Ping Center is one of the most awesome rec centers I have ever been in.

Apart from just working out, Ping has a rock climbing wall, racquetball courts, basketball courts, squash courts, indoor soccer courts, and just about every type of court you could ever possibly want.

One of my favorite things to do at Ping though is play wallyball. Wallyball is like volleyball but instead of having a huge open court, you play inside a racquetball court with walls all around you. The rules are very similar to volleyball except for my favorite rule; you can hit the ball off the walls. Although I’m rather bad at it, playing wallyball with my friends is something that always refreshes and in a way relaxes me.

Leave a Reply

