Recreation Opportunities at OU

Sam Williams

Sam Williams,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 8 December 2012 – Going to college can be stressful. My experiences here have made me grow up, and with increased age comes great responsibility. Taking care of an apartment, homework, chores, and friendships takes a lot of concentration.

When under this sort of pressure, I always find that exercise relieves a lot of the stress. Athens offers a lot of opportunity for exercise. There’s Ping (with its weights, machines, track, sports courts, climbing wall, martial arts, and exercise classes of all kinds), the bike path, countless hills for hiking, an aquatic center, and an ice rink. I think that covers pretty much every form of exercise known to man.

Personally, I don’t have much of a favorite when it comes to recreation. I’ve run, I’ve lifted weights, I’ve played sports, I’ve done martial arts, and I’ve gone to exercise classes. I find that, oddly, variation in exercise type helps me keep consistent overall in working out without burning out.

If someone were looking for a recreation opportunity in Athens, I would definitely recommend intramurals. It’s a lot of fun to get a group of friends and acquaintances together and go school the opposing team in your favorite sport. It can make you grow closer to friends, give your brain a break from large projects, and keep you healthy. I’ve played both indoor and outdoor soccer as well as broomball, and I can say without a doubt that those games are some of my most cherished college memories.

Leave a Reply

