Basketball Season at Ohio

Steve Burns

Steve Burns,
Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 28 January 2013 – Now that the new semester is here, I am very excited for the rest of Ohio University’s basketball season. The basketball games are a great way to have some fun and take a break from schoolwork during the week. These games have become one of my favorite activities here on campus because of the excitement that exists in the Convo during a close game and because of the large number of students that show up to each home game. Also, it doesn’t hurt that the basketball program here is not too shabby…and by not too shabby I mean defending MAC champions and a Sweet 16 run last season.

Not only are the home games a great time, road games can be even more fun. It’s great when enough people get together to make a trip to an away game. By far my favorite experience following the basketball team was when they were making a run into the NCAA tournament last season. A group of my friends and I went to the MAC championship game in Cleveland to watch Ohio win there, only to pack up shortly after and head to Nashville, Tennessee to watch the first round of tournament games. This is one of my favorite memories being a student here thus far. There were students and fans from schools across the country gathered in one central location to watch and cheer on their respective schools. The Ohio game versus Michigan was a thriller and one that I will never forget, both because of the win and the impressive number of OU students and supporters who made the trip to Nashville to cheer on the team.

So I’m pumped it is basketball season again and that conference games are underway. Hopefully the basketball team will have another incredible season because if they do I know I will be watching and along for the ride.

One thought on “Basketball Season at Ohio

  1. Cindy Scott

    Hi Steve,
    Just read your “basketball” blog. Also just received an email from Bill Proctor{I am Manager of Business Development with Epicenter.}Wow ,it would be great to have a Bobcat on the team!! My brother was a quarterback for OU so I have been there for many sports events through the years. Although you would be surrounded by “Buckeyes”,we welcome a MAC!…Cindy Scott

    Reply

Leave a Reply

