Mechanical Engineering Design

Scott Kostohryz

Scott Kostohryz,
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 11 February 2013 – This semester is shaping up to be a very fun and rewarding one. I am in several classes where I will be designing, testing, and evaluating a part and or mechanism as a member of a team. I very much enjoy Computer Aided Design (ME 3510) and in Machine Design (ME 3700), our group is going to be designing a radial engine. The task will not be an easy one, but it will be very exciting to see it completed. Our team wants to reduce the weight of the engine as well as try and make it more efficient. I cannot wait until we have it moving.

In machine design, we have already had a few design projects. In one assignment, our group was to design a trailer hitch. In another assignment, we designed a shear pin and support for a hydraulic ram. We used our previous knowledge from strengths of materials and applied it to the design. Then, through the use of Inventor and Solid Edge, we verified our results by doing a stress analysis.

In many of my classes this semester, I see much of what I have learned apply and the knowledge I have gained be built upon. For example, our group will be using strengths, dynamics, thermodynamics, and physics when designing and testing the radial engine. This knowledge will also be used in our team design projects in machine design.

I am beginning to see how much I really enjoy mechanical engineering. Mechanical engineers are very important and involved all the way along the design process. They are there from the initial design to the analysis, prototyping and on to the testing, and mass production. As I have said, I enjoy working with CAD and 3D design. I hope I can continue to design and maybe make it a career. It is rewarding to have an idea come from pen and paper to a digital model, and then become physical part.

Leave a Reply

