Interactive Computer Graphics

Weston Martin

Weston Martin,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 23 October 2013 – This year I am a senior majoring in computer science in the Russ College Of Engineering and Technology. For me, that means I have a harder course load than I have ever had but it also means that I get to take more interesting classes than I have ever had as well. So far, senior year is full of all the “fun” classes I have been looking forward to since I enrolled in the Russ College of Engineering. The computer science program here offers all kinds of cool classes once you get the basics of programming and math out of the way. These classes range from artificial intelligence, to networking and internet engineering, and one of my favorites; interactive computer graphics.

I am currently taking the interactive computer graphics class and it is the best class I have ever taken. Throughout the class I am learning about how your computer interacts with the graphics card to actually make things show up and move on the screen. We started with basic 2 dimensional graphics and then soon got into 3 dimensional graphics which is really awesome. We are learning about current practices in video games and how to make our 3D graphics more realistic. In a few weeks we get to choose our own final project and turn our design into a reality instead of taking a final exam.

Final projects can be a variety of things but one of the most common ideas is some type of game. So as my friends study for all their boring exams I get to brag about how I am working on a 3D game for a grade! I get more excited with each class I attend and I can’t wait to see what else is in store for this semester.

Leave a Reply

