Looking at Graduate School

Colton Moran

Colton Moran,
Senior, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 24 February 2014 – So you spend 4 years slugging it out with core classes, trying to find the best general education courses, that you’re interested in, that hopefully won’t be too demanding if your schedule is already looking rough, and getting involved with your academic community. After all this time, after the good the bad and the ugly you come up to a point where you have to make one of the biggest decisions of your life. That is where I stand this day, deciding (after 4 year of hard work) whether to get a job or go to graduate school. It seems like just a few months ago I was a freshman looking at the beginning of my collegiate career and here I am sliding down the tail end.

Many of my friends have decided to go into industry but I don’t think I’m quite done with the “good ole years”. I have my eyes set on graduate school and let me tell you, it can be an exciting and overwhelming task to find the perfect school. First I had to take those 4 years previously mentioned and wrap them up, polish them and present them on 1 piece of paper (my resumé). Then I had to search for the schools that are at the top of the field of energy engineering. Once I found the schools I narrowed them down by looking at their current research and active professors. All the while I spent studying for the GRE which is always a pleasure (Not too bad for us engineers!!). Then the biggest moment of them all comes, submitting the accumulation of your life to the schools of your choice. I sent in resumés, transcripts, letters of recommendation, and a multitude of essays. Then the waiting game begins.

Luckily for me I got into the three schools I applied to and I am currently set up to visit them. I still have Ohio University on my list of schools as well. This exploration and decision will be in chapter 2 of (What to do after my undergraduate degree).

Purdue
Ga Tech

NC State
Ohio

Leave a Reply

