Spring Break in Chicago

Evan Teske

Evan Teske, Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 27 March 2012 – Spring break this year started with St. Patty’s Day weekend, and for anyone that has seen The Fugitive, you may have noted that Chicago is a popular place to celebrate. This is mostly because of the parade, and also every year the city dyes the river green, which is a pretty cool tradition. So for this year’s holiday I road tripped up to the Windy City with a few friends from high school and stayed with my former Bromley roommate in Humboldt Park. Some connections we had with DePaul graduates made the weekend a success, and the combination of their experience and time spent in town gave us plenty of good things to do and see.

Since I was on break, I opted to stay a few extra nights in the city and take the Amtrak back on that Wednesday. This allowed time to do some site seeing that would have been difficult with more people, especially using all public transportation. My friend whom I was staying with did not have to work, so I had a travel buddy that understood the bus and train (CTA) systems. Some cool sites I had not been to before were Millennium Park, The Cultural Center (formerly the main library), China Town, The Chicago Board of Trades, and to the top of the Willis Tower (see the picture below).

I really enjoyed the trip also because I will be living and working in Chicago once I graduate, and being able to see the city from an insider’s perspective like my friend’s made me pretty excited about relocating. Chicago has a lot to offer and seems like a great place to start out my career.

Leave a Reply

