Making It Through English

David Parisi

David Parisi, Senior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 6 May 2012

What can I say about English. I’ve always been good at math, but English is a different story. This quarter I’m taking my junior English class (hopefully the last English class I ever have to take) and it is not the most pleasant experience.

It is a women and gender studies class with a lot of reading and writing. The reading I can handle. I’ll blaze through the books and the extra readings that are assigned, yet when it comes to writing I am stumped. I’ll sit down to write and nothing happens. I usually just end up staring at the paper for a while. I’ve even tried what the great author Ernest Hemingway suggested, “Write drunk; edit sober.” Unfortunately, this did not work out as well as I had planned.

Even though it has been tough, I’ve learned a lot about writing in this class. I’ve been putting my nose to the grindstone and so far my grades have been good. All of my friends have done well in English so I have to make sure that I do as well as them. In a few short weeks I will be done with English and I’ll have my math and engineering classes comforting me again.

Leave a Reply

