Spring Activities in Athens

Joe Schilling

Joe Schilling, Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 16 April 2012 – This is my last spring quarter in Athens and I am trying to make the most of it before I graduate. Once the weather starts getting nice there are so many things to do. One of my main hobbies is fishing, and Southern Ohio offers many opportunities for a daily fishing trip. Just right outside Ohio University is Lake Snowden and Strouds Run. Both of these lakes are stockpiled full of fish, and offer the best chance.
The picture above shows Lake Snowden which is located 5 miles west of Athens. The lake has great fishing, hiking trails, and boat rentals. That’s what I love about going to OU you can get out of class and be on the water within 10 minutes.

Another activity which many students including myself take advantage of is the Ohio University golf course. The course is a 9 hole course which lies along the Hocking river. It’s a fun course to play, and is fairly cheap for students. It is nice to have finished most of my coursework before my last quarter. I am able to relax and enjoy the few remaining weeks I have in Athens.

Leave a Reply

