Training to be a Certified Flight Instructor

Kelly McCoy

Kelly McCoy,
Senior, Aviation

Athens, OH 17 November 2012 – Fall is here! Though it may not feel like it some days, I’m definitely taking advantage of the warmer-than-normal weather. I am working on becoming a Certified Flight Instructor, and it allows me to get more hours in the air. Right now I’m working on a project with my instructor where he acts as a student and I act as the instructor, and I have to teach him everything he needs to know to safely operate an aircraft. I create lesson plans and find unique ways to explain everything from the different parts of an airplane to the different theories of lift to emergency procedures. It’s definitely challenging but it’s interesting being on the side of the instructor, as opposed to the side of the student, and good preparation for next semester when I will have real students.

The nice weather also allowed us to have a chili cook-off/fly-in at our airport this fall. It was the first time we have ever done something like this, and it was a great fundraising opportunity for the OU chapter of Women in Aviation, International. A few people brought their planes in, and many people drove down from campus. It will most likely turn into an annual event.

Leave a Reply

