ChemE Co-op at Duracell

Nichole Lowe

Nichole Lowe,
Senior, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 3 September 2013 – This past summer I was a research and development intern at Procter & Gamble Duracell in Bethel, Connecticut. It was actually my second internship at this facility.

My experience in Bethel, CT was definitely one to remember. As a R&D intern I had the opportunity to run my own lab test on zinc particles inside of a AAA battery. I used three different analysis machines: the scanning electron microscope, Hirox digital microscope, and a particle size distribution test. These were all machines I had never used prior to this internship. It was great getting the chance to learn how to use them to complete my project.

My favorite part of the entire internship is that everyone treated me as if I was a full time employee. I was given my own office space and computer. The success of my project and therefore the rewards were all in my hands. At the end of my internship I was required to write a technical report on all my results as well as present to top level technical management at Duracell.

I took this opportunity because I have always wanted to work for P&G. I am very thankful for this experience, because when I graduate I will be a full-time employee at Procter & Gamble Hair Care & Color in Cincinnati, OH.

Leave a Reply

