Summer Co-op at GE Power & Water

Marissa Singley

Marissa Singley,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 6 September 2013 – This past summer I did a co-op with General Electric in South Carolina. At first I was really nervous, I was moving to a new area and would be doing a job that I had no clue what it entailed. However, it turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made! I was placed in the Repair Development Center for Power and Water. I got to work on things such as gas turbine and jet engine parts. So cool!

I was assigned a manager, a technical leader, and a “buddy”, all of which turned out to be great assets to me. I still keep in contact with all three. They guided me through the summer with ease. Before long, I had dug right in to my projects.

ALT

One of my projects was focusing on optimizing a brazing and coatings process on a jet engine part. At first, I had no idea what that meant. So I had to do my research. I was able to talk to engineers and technicians in order to gain the knowledge of what I was working with and how I needed to fix it.

Throughout the entire summer I learned so much about myself and about engineering. One of the major lessons was that I can be confident in my engineering and technical skills. I had a blast over the summer and am looking forward to my career in engineering so much more now that I have had this experience!

Leave a Reply

