Bobcats Building a Better World

Claire Hall

Claire Hall,
Junior, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 9 September 2013 – This summer with the student organization Bobcats Building a Better World, I had the wonderful opportunity to travel to Ghana, Africa. Bobcats Building a Better World has had long ties with Maase, a village in Ghana. The last project started has been to build teacher housing for the betterment of the schools. I had the privilege of traveling with the organization’s advisor, Dr. Giesey, and three other students in varying majors. Over the two weeks we were there, we worked on installing a septic system for the housing. Below shows the walls of the housing and the hole for the septic tank which was formed by poured concrete. We had to assure the level of elevation between all points of the septic system created the appropriate gradient.

ALT

The technical aspects of the project regarding engineering were new to me but I then had the chance to become a well-rounded student learning some aspects of civil engineering. The experience became all the more rewarding as we became immersed in the Ghanaian lifestyle and created close bonds within our group and with the people we got to work with there. Below shows our group members along with two Elders of the village who oversaw our project, and other community members who were able to give us a lot of help.

ALT

Before this I had never been out of the country and had not known what to expect. This experience helped to enrich my education but also helped me to learn about myself, what motivates me and what I am passionate about. The trip was absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply

