Summer Co-op with General Mills

Emily Blaha

Emily Blaha,
Senior, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 7 September 2014

Over the summer, I had the opportunity to complete an internship with General Mills. I worked at their plant in Wellston, Ohio, where they make Totino’s pizzas and pizza rolls. For work, I commuted from Athens with another OU chemical engineering student.

I was an Engineering & Operations Intern, and my projects introduced me to both process engineering and daily operations of the pizza lines. I was very fortunate to work with an awesome group of interns from around the country.

General Mills Interns

Since I graduate in May 2015, I really wanted to use my last summer to work in a plant setting and see how I liked it. The General Mills plant definitely fit what I was looking for with 24-hour production schedules and 1200 employees! Overall, it was a great experience. I learned a lot about what type of work environment is best for me and what I should focus on when I start to apply for full-time jobs.

I also took two semesters off of school last year to complete two co-op terms in the automotive industry where I had a Quality role in a corporate setting. I am really glad that I spent my time during my undergrad to gain work experience and try multiple industries. The Russ College of Engineering & Technology provides students with so many opportunities to gain real engineering experience, whether it’s through a student organization, undergraduate research, or a co-op or internship. Get involved!

Leave a Reply

