Start of My Senior Year in Aviation

Josh D'Urso

Josh D’Urso,
Senior, Aviation

Athens, OH 8 September 2014

As I start my senior year, everyone keeps reminding me that I need to start applying for jobs. While this is exciting to begin a new journey of my life, I don’t want to leave the life I’ve built here in Athens. I transferred to Ohio University my sophomore year and that was one of the best decisions of my life. Since I was a transfer student I knew I needed to get involved in some organizations in order to make some friends.

I joined an international business flight fraternity called Alpha Eta Rho (AHP) and I’m now the head of the fundraising committee. I’ve also joined Women in Aviation (WAI). I’ve met some of my closest friends through AHP and WAI and through these organizations I’ve been able to travel to Washington D.C. and Kalamazoo, Michigan for our national conferences. This year I’ll be going to San Diego where I’ll get to have dinner on an aircraft carrier! These trips have been possible largely by the help of Dean Irwin and some financial support of Russ College of Engineering and Technology.

While I’m looking forward to the future and those trips, I’m going to mention something in the not-so-long-ago past. This summer I stayed in Athens and worked very hard towards getting my Certified Flight Instructor (CFI) certificate. Three days before opening weekend I was able to successfully pass my checkride and I’m now a CFI and I’m teaching students this semester. It has been one of the greatest accomplishments of my life and I’m looking forward to where it is going to take me after college!

After CFI Checkride

Leave a Reply

