Getting Involved in Engineering Organizations

Casey Davis

Casey Davis,
Senior, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 10 September 2014

As a Russ College student, you have big shoes to fill. There have been many prominent professionals that all started where we did, perhaps in a big lecture in Stocker 103. However, I can say that none of those individuals went through life thinking, I am just here to go to school get a degree and make a bunch of money. They became involved, interacted with the faculty and the community around them.

Fortunately we have some of the best staff in the world in the Russ College and a long list of programs that can include everyone to somehow find a group that you belong to. I am involved in a couple that I will discuss briefly.

Theta Tau is the oldest professional engineering fraternity in the nation, started in 1904 at the University of Minnesota. Joining Theta Tau has been easily the best decision I could have made for myself while at Oho University. I am currently living with five other engineers also involved in Theta Tau, creating professional relationships as well as life-long friendships how could it not be a good decision for anyone?

The other group I have joined is the Institute of Industrial Engineers, or IIE. It is a group of Industrial Engineering students (though, not required to be an IE) that take tours of facilities that IE is applied including Kenworth Truck Company in Chillicothe and Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus. Overall this experience has led me to see what life will be like once I make the next step from Russ College student to business professional. I can only foresee good things due to my education here at Ohio University.

Leave a Reply

