Getting Involved in Student Organizations

Lance Jackson

Lance Jackson,
Senior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 21 September 2014

When in a field such as engineering it is important to find a balance between school work and recreational activities. Ohio University offer a plethora of clubs and organizations that students are able to join. From intramural sports all the way down to the hula-hooping club, it would be tough not to find at least one club that interested you. Sometimes it’s nice to get away from the anti-derivatives and go for a nice Sunday run with the running club (my personal club of choice).

From my personal experience, being able to take a step back and not think about schoolwork for a while actually helps me focus on my work once I decide to get back to it. During my time at Ohio University I’ve tried to join a different club each year. During my freshman year I joined an intramural flag football team and my sophomore year I was very active in the running club. My junior year, I would go to weekly bible sessions with Divine Covering.

Joining clubs is a great way to make new friends and relieve stress. Although it takes good time management skills to juggle the demands of a rigorous engineering course-load while still remaining active outside of Russ College, I think it is well worth the sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

