Getting Involved in Student Organizations

Julie Stenger

Julie Stenger,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 23 September 2014

My senior year started off with a bang. I didn’t have very much time to kick it into high gear on my time management skills, as I became involved with a number (read “too many”) activities this year.

Last year I was in Phi Sigma Pi, a coed National Honor Society, and was a scuba diving teaching assistant. In addition to those, this year I am an Engineering Ambassador and a Learning Community Leader; I play intramural soccer; and I am the president of Pi Tau Sigma, the National Mechanical Engineering Honor Society.

On top of that I started Senior Design this fall, plus my other classes. “I must be crazy for taking on all these activities” and “which organization should I drop to keep my sanity?” were things that initially went through my head this year.

However, as time went on I realized that I couldn’t drop any of them without being disappointed in myself:

  • I love being an Engineering Ambassador and becoming friends with people in other majors as well as having the opportunity to talk to prospective students and their families about why Ohio University and Russ College is the greatest place to be.
  • Being president of an organization also makes me feel accomplished and proud to be a leader of others and to do good things for our school
  • Scuba diving is my get-away from engineering and the opportunity to get to go to Florida every semester for free is never something I could quit!
  • Finally, as a Learning Community Leader I get to interact with freshmen all the time and I appreciate that I get to make them excited about Ohio University and school, as well as being able to sort of live my freshman year again vicariously through them!

There isn’t one thing I would drop and it’s helped me learn to be better organized. Despite how much time they take up and stress they create, I greatly appreciate that I get to be involved in my school and meet tons of new people all the time. I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

Leave a Reply

