Being Involved: Marching 110 and Cru

Erin Tracy

Erin Tracy,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 12 October 2014

In October of my junior year of high school, I visited Ohio University for the first time to watch my older brother perform with the Marching 110 at a football game. I remember how exciting the halftime performance was and how much the crowd loved the band. I was so proud of my brother, and that visit was a big part of my decision to come to OU.

I auditioned for the band before my freshman year and have been a member all four years. Although it can be overwhelming and exhausting, it really is one of my favorite things about OU. I absolutely love performing at halftime and experiencing the crowd’s reaction, especially after a dance chart. It’s hard to explain that rush we get on the field, knowing that we’re a part of something that brings so much joy and energy to a stadium full of people. The 110 was recently named the ‘Nation’s Best College Marching Band’, which is such an honor, but we don’t do what we do for titles. Our goals every week are to perform to the best of our abilities, entertain the crowd, and have a ton of fun! If we do that, we’ve done our job.

As much as I love being in the 110, my involvement in Cru is what gives me life. I lead a community group of girls on East Green, and many of my best friends are in my Action Group of East Green leaders (pictured).

Action Group of East Green leaders

I love the opportunity I get to work with these awesome ladies and watch how God is growing them! At Fall Retreat last weekend, I made the decision to apply for STINT (Short Term International) with Cru for a year after graduation. It’s not official yet, but I may be ministering to college students in Asia next year, which is both exciting and terrifying at the same time. My path has definitely been shaped by the things I love, both band in getting me to attend OU and Cru in sharing my faith after leaving.

Leave a Reply

