Group Fitness Classes on Campus

Courtney Sterrick

Courtney Sterrick,
Senior, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 8 November 2014

In addition to completing the homework assigned for classes, it is crucial to exercise and keep your body healthy. Over my time at OU, I have come to enjoy and participate in a number of the group fitness classes offered at Ping, our fitness center on campus. Group fitness classes are free to OU students and are offered Sunday-Saturday. Classes are led by OU students and include kickboxing, cardio dance, yoga, Zumba, cycling, hardcore (toning/strengthening abdominal and back muscles), and piloxing (a combination of pilates, kickboxing, and dance).

Of the classes offered, I most commonly attend kickboxing and cardio dance. Both are fun ways to burn calories and relieve stress. Kickboxing is a great workout where the instructor leads us through various series of motions throughout the 45-60 min class. In cardio dance, popular songs are choreographed to dance moves designed to make you sweat (similar to Zumba). Cardio dance is my favorite group fitness class offered. I really enjoy that while I am by no means a great dancer, no one cares; everyone is there to exercise—not to watch you make a fool of yourself!

Whether I attend by myself or with a group of my friends, group fitness classes are always a fun way to workout. I have also noticed that taking time to exercise helps clear my mind and makes
studying/completing homework assignments less overwhelming. Taking advantage of these offerings on campus lets you have fun and stay healthy at the same time.

Leave a Reply

