The Intimacy of Athens

Eric May

Eric May,
Senior, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 29 January 2015

Athens is truly a college town. What I mean by that is you can thrive here using your own two legs. When prospective students are looking at where to go to college, I think that they often don’t consider whether or not they need a car or how close together the campus is. Coming from Columbus, Ohio, I drove everywhere. In Athens, I drive maybe once per week to get groceries. I love this because I get to exercise and I’m constantly running into my classmates and friends on Court Street and around campus. Not a single day goes by where I don’t run into somebody. This kind of intimacy allows for a very relaxed, inviting, fun, and creative atmosphere. Working on a project at a coffee shop, and perhaps somebody walks by and has a great insight or can help you at a point where you’re stuck–those kind of interactions that are common here.

But it’s not just work. Recently I was at the Cider House with a great friend. Some of the bars have board games and puzzles and things like that. What better way to spend an evening than sitting on a couch, not at home, and playing games and having fun and building friendships?

Jenga Tower

Of course you can do this anywhere, but in Athens you can do this casually, which I think is incredibly important. If I wanted to do this in a city like Columbus, it becomes an ordeal. I have to get in my car, drive somewhere, park, worry about driving, etc. In Athens, it’s just “Oh, hey, let’s go watch the Bobcat basketball game” or “Hey, let’s meet for breakfast at Casa Nueva.” These things don’t need to be planned well in advance. It feeds a student’s creativity and creates a much better atmosphere than I’ve seen in many other places.

Leave a Reply

