Campus Jobs

Jordan Sapp

Jordan Sapp,
Junior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 10 February 2015

Something to consider when thinking about being a college student is whether you want to get a job or not. For me, I didn’t want a job during my first year in school because I wanted to establish a foundation in the transition from high school to college and focus mainly on my classes. As my sophomore year rolled around, I decided that I was capable of working a few hours a week so I got a job at parking services.

I really enjoy working, it gives me some time away from the classroom and homework and allows me to do some physical labor. My current position as event manager is quite a diverse job in that my role is never the same from day to day. One day I could be moving barricades another day I could be dealing with a customer who had their car towed. The ever-changing job tasks keep me on my toes and give some challenges outside of labs and projects.

CATS Bus

As a junior now, it was imperative that I have a job so that I could buy groceries and pay for rent. I actually picked up a second job this semester driving a shuttle bus for Ohio University’s Transportation Services. I currently drive the purple loop CATS bus which is a free shuttle service offered to Ohio University students. Working two jobs has helped me in the ability to manage my time and ensure that I am getting all of my work done. Work is not always a bad thing, I would suggest if you can manage your time well work in college could be for you.

Leave a Reply

