Preparing for Life After College

Lance Jackson

Lance Jackson,
Senior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 23 February 2015

A lot has come with the final full semester of my college career. Preparing for graduation, continuing to apply myself in classes, and hunting for jobs have been the main three things that have been occupying my time along with attempting to enjoy my last full year of college with my classmates.

There are a lot of things that must be addressed when preparing for graduation, like ensuring that everyone has somewhere to stay and making sure they all have transportation. Classes have become slightly more challenging since the finish line has become within seeing distance but I’ve managed to keep the deadly case of senioritis at bay by increasing my level of focus.

However, my senior year has been very rewarding in the aspect of job searching. I have received interviews with companies where I was treated to dinner, shown around the main office of the company, then given a tour of one of their project sites. These interviews have been particularly exciting seeing that I was able to actually experience first-hand what these potential employers had to offer. I haven’t made a decision on where I want to work after graduation but would not be opposed to being wined and dined a few more times before I finally committed to where I want to start my professional career.

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Life After College

  1. nectaroftruth

    Ran across your blog while searching through Job Search tags. I’m also in my senior year also, and it’s completely nerve racking trying to find a career job post May. So your view is understood. Best of luck throughout your search and Congratulations for current offers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

