Planning for Spring Break

Gavin Whitehead

Gavin Whitehead,
Junior, Aviation

Athens, OH 28 February 2015

It’s about time for a break. I’m starting to daydream and procrastinate. This spring break came right on time! With all of this snow though it’s more like a second winter break than a spring break. I would love to go to some place warm…Cancun? I wish.

Last year around this time I went skiing for the first time. It was a fun time and I think I will go again and make it a tradition for spring break. My first time wasn’t too bad, I only fell a few times and didn’t lose my poles on the ski lift. I count that as a success. I’m planning on perfect north slopes where my friend works in the winter. He racks up points for working, then we all go as a group and get free lift tickets and ski all through the day. What’s better than free skiing?

One thing that got me pumped this past week was RJet day at the Aviation Department. Republic Airways came down for one of their college recruitment fairs. This is an opportunity to talk with the airline and get the inside scoop on things. It’s great networking and an opportunity to give them our resume.

Republic Airways gave out information and free bags and had a presentation over the history of the company and where they stand now. They backed up the talk about how the industry is hurting on pilots and how now is the perfect time to flight train. Republic Airways, just like a lot of other airlines, are now on a hiring spree and looking for pilots to fly their planes. The road to flying for the airlines is looking more near by the flight hour!

Leave a Reply

