ISE Internship at Lincoln Electric

Paige Preske

Paige Preske,
Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 27 August 2015

This summer I had the pleasure of being a summer intern at The Lincoln Electric Company, the leading manufacture in welding. Going into this experience I was very nervous because not only was it was my first internship, which is nerve-wracking in itself, but I also knew nothing about welding. My biggest worry was that I wouldn’t know how to apply my past three years of schooling on the job, or worse yet not remember what I’ve learned in school. These fears were quickly overcome. My past studies paid off immensely and with the guidance of Lincoln Electric I had an incredible summer internship. I attended Weld School, worked on money-saving projects, attended networking events, and made good friends with the other interns.

ALT

After the completion of my internship I was able to apply and interview for a full time position with Lincoln Electric as one of their engineering trainees. When I started the internship I didn’t know what I wanted to do after graduation, today I still am unsure. The difference now is that I am aware of the many opportunities available with an engineering degree. As my senior year progresses, I’m excited to continue developing in my field and exploring the numerous opportunities quickly approaching.

Leave a Reply

