Summer Co-op at Basic Systems

Melinda Nelson

Melinda Nelson,
Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 28 August 2015

This summer I interned at Basic Systems, Inc. in Cambridge, Ohio. They design natural gas compressor stations for companies across the country. Natural gas is a field that has really come alive around the Cambridge area, which is where I am from. It was very exciting for me to be able to be a part a company designing the types of stations that are used in the industry I see every day around my home.

Going into the job, I had taken one introductory AutoCAD course, and at Basic, AutoCAD is the main tool we used. Needless to say, I was a little nervous about knowing enough to get the job done! I quickly learned something about employers, though: they don’t expect you to know everything on the first day. What they do expect is for you to ask questions and learn by doing the work.

Throughout this experience I learned a lot about what actually goes on in an engineering workplace. Unlike the typical engineering description, “doing math and science”, the engineers at work act as project planners, customer representatives and budgeters. It was cool to see how much of the skills we learn (besides math and science) go into getting the job done in a way that makes the customer happy (which is the ultimate goal!).

Working wasn’t all I did there, I also got to visit a compressor station (my favorite part!!) that was designed at Basic Systems. It was cool to see how the designs come to life in the field. The accomplishment of delivering a product to a customer is very rewarding.

Site Visit: Rockport Compressor Station, Rockport West Virginia.

A lesson that I took away from this experience that will forever remain with me is that in life, since you can’t know everything, continual learning is a necessity. I am really glad I had the opportunity to work an internship this summer.

Leave a Reply

