Beginning the Job Search

Katie Logue

Katie Logue,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 1 September 2015

Classes and extracurriculars are well underway, and it hasn’t quite sunk in that this is my final Fall semester. My time at Russ College has flown by, and I honestly can’t figure out where the past four years have gone.

This summer I completed my fourth co-op rotation at DuPont in Washington, WV. Although participating in the co-op program that many times delayed my graduation by a year, it was well worth it. I worked in the Mechanical Development Group and gained overall about a year and a half of experience with all kinds of mechanical equipment. I learned so many things that I wouldn’t have necessarily been able to see in a classroom. Now, as I am already beginning my job search for after graduation, I’m truly realizing the value of this experience.

I didn’t realize how time-consuming and stressful applying for jobs could be or just how early in the semester this process would begin. Not only have I spent several hours editing my resume, corresponding with recruiters, and filling out applications, but next I’ll have to find time in my schedule for plant tours and interviews. Although I’m very excited about this next step in my life, it is challenging to stay focused on school and other responsibilities while job hunting.

I know that this will likely be my last stressful semester, and by the time Spring semester arrives, I will have accepted a job offer, my senior design project will be nearing prototype completion, and I will have a much less strenuous course load. Sometimes it’s hard to see very far into the future, but I know all the hard work and responsibility has been worth it, and I will look back on this time one day an miss all these great things that are going on in my life right now. My goal for this year is to embrace every opportunity and truly enjoy my senior year.

Leave a Reply

