Weekend Getaway with Cru

Melinda Nelson

Melinda Nelson,
Senior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 6 October 2015

It is October and fall semester is in full swing. There aren’t any more “free” days as homework and projects start to pile up. We are in the midst of midterms, group meetings and deadlines quickly approaching. This all sounds awful, I agree, but don’t worry there is some light at the end of this tunnel of mid-semester work and it’s called FALL RETREAT!!!

The first weekend in October this year was the end of the first week of midterms, the buffer before the next week’s midterms and time for the best weekend away of fall semester! I spent this particular weekend at Fall Retreat with Cru (a Christian ministry I’m involved in here on campus) and had an amazing time along with a much needed break from school. Now, it sounds like I wouldn’t have time to go away with all that’s going on at school, but reading day (our day off classes to study for midterms) allowed me to finish all my homework and head to Scioto Hills for a great time of relaxing and bonding with friends.

Cru Friends

I have made a ton of friends through student organizations and it was great to spend time with a lot of them on retreat. This was my first time going on retreat and I had a blast! I had a great time with community, music, bonfires, late nights and tons of fun! As a first-timer, I got to experience Ultimate Pumpkin (yes, it’s ultimate Frisbee with a pumpkin!) for the first time and it was awesome!

Ultimate Pumpkin

Spending time with friends and other leaders in the organization was a great way to get recharged as we came back into another busy week at school. I am so glad I made the decision to go do something fun; it was a great experience I will never forget!

Leave a Reply

