Geotechnical Engineering Lab

Mira Cooper

Mira Cooper,
Junior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 11 October 2015

One of my favorite things about being a junior is that I’m finally getting out of my general education classes and getting into my major-specific ones. For instance, this semester I’m taking Geotechnical Engineering, a staple for all CE students. Along with the lecture, this class comes with a lab requirement. I love lab requirements. Especially ones that let me just play with dirt for an hour!

In Soils lab, we test the various properties of different soils using the tried-and-true methods we talk about in lecture. It’s the perfect way to help remember the differences between procedures that tend to become indistinguishable after class lets out.

Geotechnical Engineering Lab

The best part about this class (other than getting to squish mud between my fingers every Wednesday afternoon) is that it’s so easy to see the applications of this work to real life. The things we do in lab are the things real geotechnical engineers do every day. The Proctor tests, the Atterberg limit calculations…It’s not like our professors are dumbing down complex concepts and giving us experiments that don’t apply to anything. They’re taking real life work and letting us have that hands-on experience that all engineers adore. It makes me feel like I’m working towards something real!

Leave a Reply

