Research in the Motor Control Lab

Alexa Hoynacke

Alexa Hoynacke,
Junior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 11 October 2015

Fall semester is almost halfway done and I cannot believe how fast my junior year is flying by! This past summer I worked as a research assistant with the Motor Control Lab, which is a part of the College of Health Sciences and Professions. As a research assistant I was placed with the FLAG Study. Most of my summer was dedicated to writing and adjusting code, pilot testing, data collection, and analyzing pilot data.

A large part of the Motor Control Lab is working with virtual reality gaming to help find solutions for back pain. Here is a picture of me suited up in our motion capturing sensors and using an Oculus Rift.

Suited Up for Motion Capture

This past week has been very exciting because The FLAG study which has been my main focus for the past few months finally opened for enrollment. I cannot wait to see how the data collection process goes during these next few months.

Coming in as a freshman I would have never expected my college career to lead me towards research in biomechanics and motor control, but I very glad it did. I hope to continue with my research and pursue my Masters and possibly a Ph.D focused around biomechanics and ergonomics.

Leave a Reply

