My Athens Bucket List

Nicole Sova

Nicole Sova,
Senior, Chemical and Biomolecular

Engineering

Athens, OH 2 November 2015

Amidst the hustle of classes and conferences, it could be easy to forget to step back and enjoy the little things. In order to make sure we didn’t miss out on any of the fun Athens has to offer, my roommate and I made a bucket list for our last fall in Athens, with many of them complete (X).

  • Bike the Hocking Adena Bike Path (X)
  • Enjoy Breakfast at the Catalyst Café (X)
  • Experience the Pawpaw Festival (X)
  • Buy Apples at the Farmer’s Market (X)
  • Walk the Ridges Nature Trails (X)
  • Visit the Kennedy Art Museum (X)
  • Watch One of the Performing Art Series Concerts (X)
  • Cheer on the Hockey Team (X)
  • Watch the Sunset from Bong Hill
  • Hike Radar Hill
  • Sing along to the Marching 110 (X)
  • Go to a Football Game (X)
  • Watch the Homecoming Parade
  • Eat the Local Cuisine on Court Street (X)
  • Go Bowling at the Rollerbowl
  • Take a Sunday Drive through Town (X)
  • Enjoy the Colors of Fall on College Green (X)
  • Watch a Movie at the Fun Barn
  • Dress up with Friends and Enjoy the Halloween Block Party (X)

While I’m still working on crossing a few of these things off of the list, so many memories accompany each of these bullet points. One of my favorite memories on the list is singing and dancing along with the Marching 110 at the football game halftime shows. Their spirit and energy are infectious! This video is of one of the songs they played during this year’s parents’ weekend game, but nothing beats watching them live.

Being from New York, I had never heard of a pawpaw (a sweet, slightly mushy, but delicious fruit). My freshman year I was happy to discover this interesting fruit and the festival that celebrates it. This year I was more than excited to introduce my freshman sister to it all. We listened to local bands, ate pawpaw-flavored foods, browsed the local crafts, and sported some stylish balloon hats. Below is a picture of me (far left), my roommates, and my sister (far right) at the Pawpaw Festival.

Pawpaw Festival

Another Athens Fall favorite is the HallOUween Block Party. It is always so much fun to see all of the interesting costumes and this year I thought we might have had a chance at winning the costume contest. Unfortunately, we lost to the Sanderson sisters. Below is a picture of my friends and me (the Mad Hatter, second from the right) as the cast of Alice in Wonderland.

Halloween

Athens has so much to offer and so many incredible people to experience it all with. I’m so glad I chose a school with so much character and friends to remind me to slow down and enjoy all that Athens has to offer.

Leave a Reply

