My Furry Friend

Katie Logue

Katie Logue,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 17 November 2015

As enjoyable as my time here at the Russ College has been, I would be lying if I said there were no days (or endless nights) crammed with homework, meetings, studying, and projects. Engineering school can be stressful, especially when you’re taking on extracurricular activities, group projects, and leadership positions at the same time, so it’s important to take time to step away from the stress and get your mind off of things.

One of my favorite ways to do that is by spending time taking walks with a very special furry friend, Carmen, my nearly two year old miniature goldendoodle. Sometimes just a short jog on the bike path to get out of our apartment does us both a world of good. Even though the weather is getting colder as winter approaches, we try to take advantage of the last few warm days any chance we get. I’ve always loved getting out on the bike path, but it’s even better when I have someone to tag along who enjoys it as much as I do.

I’m so thankful to have Carmen, who never seems to mind when I complain about studying. She’ll stay right by my side, no matter how late I have to stay up to get my homework done. She’s always waiting for me with a smile on her face when I get home from class. She even plays along on Halloween weekend, getting dressed up in costume with me and the rest of my friends.

Carmen

Getting a dog has been one of the best decisions I’ve made. I was a little worried about the added responsibility of having an animal to take care of during college, but I like to think of her as a friend and not a responsibility. It has been so worth it, and I can’t imagine living in Athens without her.

Leave a Reply

