Deciding to Go Off to College

Jordan Sapp

Jordan Sapp,
Senior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 7 January 2016

When considering what college to attend a question that continued to pop in to my head was, how far away from home do I want to be?

As a senior in high school the thought of living away from home can be very exciting, but also very frightening at the same time. For me, the thought of going away to school was pretty challenging because of how close I am with my family. I love spending time with my little brother and wrestling with my nephews so leaving them was not the first thing I wanted to do.

I am from the great city of Youngstown, Ohio so Ohio University is about a four hour drive, which as a senior in high school I thought was a very long ways away. As a senior in college now, looking back on my decision to attend a school somewhat far from home was one the best decisions I could have made. Though there were some real hard times of being homesick and wanting to spend time with my family, it was very rewarding sticking out those times and staying at school.

I have learned so much about what it looks like to live on your own and be a responsible adult. I’ve learned to budget money and how to pay bills. I have learned to make connections with people and how to make new friends. Being away at school has been the best for preparing for life after college. Plus, it is where I met my fiancée so of course I would choose Ohio University ten times out of ten.

So, my advice to any high school seniors having difficulty choosing between commuting from home and going away and staying on a campus, totally go away for college! It will be the place that you most likely learn to grow up while also having a ton fun! Plus, with technology, it is possible to go home and spend time with your family but I would also suggest not going home too many times your first year because it will keep you from connecting with the people you’re with at school!

One thought on “Deciding to Go Off to College

  1. Matthew R. Hart

    I deeply enjoyed this article. Knowing Jordan, I could almost hear his laughter as I read though it. And of course I’d have to agree with him 110% that going away your first year and trying to be as independent as you can your first year is one of the best things you can do when experiencing your first years of college. It teaches you a lot about who you are that you might not otherwise find out; at least not that early in life. Exciting to see how Jordan’s great advise impacts the lives of future Bobcats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

