Learning How to Crochet

Melinda Nelson

Melinda Nelson,
Senior, Industrial and ,p>Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 22 January 2016

I have found that early in the semester is when homework hasn’t hit full swing, there can be some real time to relax after class. This year I have managed to enjoy several relaxing activities in the afternoons and evenings when classes are finished. I have done some reading (that wasn’t in a textbook), listened to podcasts and taken time to work out. I have also expanded my hobbies, and have been able to unwind with my new favorite past time: crocheting!

Right before winter break, my roommate, Brittany, taught me how to crochet. I had watched her crocheting a lot since she had been making scarves and hats for others as Christmas presents. This is Brittany and some of her more recent projects.

Crocheting

She let me have a small ball of her extra yarn and, once I got the hang of the double crochet (that is a crocheting stitch) I went to town! I crocheted until the yarn was gone and had a nice scarf–my first project complete!

Brittany gave me “crochet starter kit” including several crochet hooks, yarn needles and a pair of scissors for my birthday. Shortly after that, I crocheted a hat that I gave to a cousin, and began looking for my next project. I went to Jo-Ann Fabric with Brittany over break to look for ideas and yarn. Here is the result of that trip:

Crocheting

Don’t worry, Brittany thought I looked pretty ridiculous as well! I went in with the idea of making a blanket because I have enough hats and scarves. Making a blanket takes a lot of yarn!

I began my blanket the week before coming back to classes here in Athens. I have been able to work on it here and there after class, which has been great. It is nice to be able to chill a little before homework starts coming in regularly. The following pictures show my progress on the blanket so far:

Crocheting
Crocheting
Crocheting

The cool thing about crocheting is that it is easy to find patterns and demo videos on the internet so you can learn new stitches and designs very easily. Crocheting wasn’t very hard to learn and it’s one of those things you can easily work on for a little while and come back to later. It has been a great way to relax and I am so glad that I picked it up as a hobby. These first few weeks of school have allowed me time to relax and unwind…many balls of yarn!

One thought on “Learning How to Crochet

  1. Matthew R. Hart

    I just loved this article; so nicely written. It made me chuckle at times, and also has inspired me to keep up with the hobbies that I deeply enjoy. Also, that blanket she seemed to be working on looked amazing! I’d like to see it when it is finished. Again, great job and great read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

