Winter’s Back

Drago Cvijetinovic

Drago Cvijetinovic,
Senior, Aviation

Athens, OH 24 January 2016

Spring semester officially started on the 11th of this month and, let me tell you something, it does not feel like spring. We’ve had temperatures at negative 14 degrees and phones have been buzzing with winter-weather-advisory warnings. Just a few months ago I was sitting in the sunshine sipping on frozen, fruit drink and enjoying the salty ocean waters with the soft sand in between my toes; there is nothing more that I want than to just go back and enjoy that for a few more days.

Sun

However, I know that once winter passes away for the year, I’m going to miss the magical, romantic feel of watching snow fall from the sky and the chance of spending that time with all my friends for one last semester. In fact, as I write this right now in my apartment that overlooks the University, the Summit, I’m watching fellow classmates sledding down the very hill that I live on.

Snow

With the start of the Spring semester, classes are taking off at full throttle, picking up everything academically from the previous semester. And since this is my senior year, I have conditioned myself to give 110% at the start of the semester. Now for some students, this may be difficult if this is their first time experiencing this–but with my experience–I have the perfect remedy for such a thing.

First things first, you have to work hard such that any free time earned is that much more enjoyable. The next step is to encourage your peers to do the same, because your friends also tend to be your best motivators. Likewise, once everyone is done with their work, you can all partake in the freedom of not having any work and have some real fun.

For example, as a freshmen, a leader board was set up in my dorm to tally wins against other students in different video games that everyone could see and participate. As a result, this competitive competition not only implemented the constructive nature of diligence through rank, but also begot and nourished what would be the foundations of stronger friendships and relationships. In fact, we played one of these video games so much, we burned out the disc and it became completely unusable. Despite this unfortunate event, it wasn’t long after that the sun finally broke through the winter clouds and dawned the initiation of outdoor activities.

Leave a Reply

