Alyson Meister

Alyson Meister,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 11 February 2016

In 2010, the Russ College was expanded with the Academic Research Center (better known as “The ARC”) as a place for students to work on projects and homework, have classes, and conduct meetings for various organizations. A lot of the students refer to it as “home” since it seems sometimes that we spend the majority of our time there, we are comfortable there and our friends are usually there too. The ARC is a blessing for us and having our own café to fuel the caffeine addictions is fantastic as well. However, sometimes I forget that life exists outside the outer edge of West Green so I have been seeking to take in as much of the beautiful campus as I can before I graduate in April.

I have been exploring Athens, trying to find different places to study, grade papers or read and I have a few favorite places for each activity.

One of my favorite places is Front Room Café on the fourth floor of Baker Center. It is actually where I am writing this blog post! It’s a good place to meet up with people or work on homework. I love to come to Front Room on Wednesday and Friday nights for open mic and have done so since my freshman year!

Front Room Fireplace

There’s a fire going right now which is keeping me warm on this 22º day!

Another one of my favorite places to do work is the 7th floor, East wing of Alden library. It has one of my favorite views on campus and was recommended to me by my father who used to study there when he was a student, so it makes me feel connected to home! t’s a much quieter place than Front Room, so it’s good for when I really need to focus.

Snowy View from Alden

A picture of the view from the 7th floor East wing of Alden

I also enjoy going to Donkey Coffee on Washington St. (Clearly, I have a coffee addiction.) This is probably my favorite place to grade papers and makes me feel important and like a professor.

Donkey Coffee

Not warm enough to study outside yet

There are several others places I enjoy going to study, but those are the top 3 outside the ARC/Stocker area. It’s important to remember there is a bigger community out there and tons of places to explore on campus and around Athens. When the weather warms up I hope to find some great places to study outside!

Leave a Reply

