Heading to DC for Spring Break

Mira Cooper

Mira Cooper,
Junior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 21 February 2016

I come from a family of workaholics. I’m pretty sure it’s genetic. My dad didn’t take a vacation day for seven years, my mom was retired for exactly one month before she got bored and got another job. Which makes it very exciting that this year, for what I think is the first time, we’re going on a family vacation for spring break.

Growing up, our idea of a vacation was taking a weekend to visit family in a little rafting town in the mountains of West Virginia. Notice, I said weekend. We were rarely gone for more than three days–my dad was convinced that the entire town of Athens would descend into chaos without him there to hold it together. So we didn’t really travel much. Needless to say, I’m really excited for spring break!

We’re going to go to Huntington, West Virginia (where my sister did her undergrad) on Thursday night to see my dad’s cousin, then Friday morning, we’re going to take the train down to Washington D.C.

First of all, I haven’t been to D.C. since my eighth grade class went, and we had to wear those hideous school shirts so that teachers could tell who was with whom. This is extremely embarrassing for a small town fashionista like me. So, I will be taking every single opportunity on this trip to dress up because HELLO IT’S A BIG CITY AND I DON’T GET TO GO TO THOSE VERY OFTEN.

I guess I should be super sappy and mention that my mom grew up in D.C. and I’ve always wanted to see the setting of all of my favorite stories of her childhood. The story about wearing five-inch platform heels in the park and stepping on a rock, causing her to fall flat on her face in front of all the lunching legislators. The story about her brother skipping school every day for an entire semester to break into their neighbor’s house and play dodgeball with their china plates. (They don’t sound so implausible when you remember that this was the seventies.)

ALSO DID I MENTION THAT WE’RE GOING BY TRAIN?!?! Because I love trains. So much. (I guess that’s the civil engineering side of me.) When I studied abroad in Scotland, I took the train whenever I could. There’s something so beautiful about being able to sit and read a book while travelling 135 mph across gorgeous countryside. Not to mention the sheer aesthetic of the whole situation. I might have to dress like a pre-WWII British schoolboy just to get the full effect of it all.

There’s really no good way to conclude this post, because I would say “There will be pictures!” but I have to submit this by midnight and we haven’t gone on the trip yet…so just imagine in your head a purple-haired girl with pink glasses dressed in Oxford style stepping onto a train with a handheld suitcase, waving goodbye to the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

