Alexa Hoynacke

Alexa Hoynacke,
Junior, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 22 February 2016

An activity that I have been very involved in at Ohio University since coming here as a freshman 2-1/2 years ago is Ohio University Outdoor Pursuits (OUOP).

Two weeks before starting freshman year I participated in the OUOP New Adventures program. Along with 7 other freshmen, I went on a 4-day rock climbing trip in the Red River Gorge. I had rock climbed a little bit in high school, but this was my first time on real rock. This experience was absolutely amazing and I met one of my best friends in college on this trip. I recommend that every freshman look into this program.

In this picture I am belaying my friend Charlie on a route in the Red River Gorge. This was a trip we took last summer.

Rock Climbing

Since participating in New Adventures I have had some awesome experience with OUOP. I have gone on kayaking, backpacking and caving trips. I currently am an OUOP rock wall supervisor. I am very lucky that I found a job doing something that I love.

This past weekend was the Spring Climbing Competition. About 40 people from around the state participated which was an awesome turnout. I worked the competition so I help judge our intermediate division and helped run the event. OUOP offers something for every student and I am so happy I got involved my freshman year.

Leave a Reply

