Building your Bobcat Family

Natasha Norris

Natasha Norris,
Senior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 22 February 2016

It’s a scary thought that I will be graduating at the end of April. Several of my friends are moving onto jobs and a few are attending graduate school. I have chosen to pursue my Ph.D. at the Ohio State University. But, I will greatly miss Athens, Ohio. The fresh food, the outgoing and unique personalities, and beautiful campus have all made my undergraduate experiences the greatest experiences of my life.

I am thankful to Ohio University for my knowledge in Electrical Engineering, but what I am most thankful for is how it helped me grow as a person. I could go on about how I learned responsibility, time management, and know circuits like the back of my hand. But what has been most impactful was learning how to enjoy my life and where I see myself in the future.

In my freshman year, I was the student who let my courses consume my life; my logic design book became my pillow. DO NOT BECOME THIS PERSON! Grades are important, but so is your happiness.

I began to loosen up once I traveled to Greece for a University program. Dr. Vassiliadis, a professor in EECS of Russ College ran the program. Like the true Greek he was, he encouraged me to explore and not just focus on the project.

After taking his advice and opening up to Thessaloniki, I saw how the people of Greece just enjoyed life; completely different from my fast paced life. This trip started my adventure in finding balance between happiness and focusing on homework. I began making more time for friends.

Friends

After several late night electronic homework sessions, trips to Ginger, and several blacklight parties, your classmates start to become your family.

Friends

My advice to any incoming freshman—or if you start late like I did—do not spend your whole college career focusing on your academic knowledge. College time flies by, and if I could go back to freshman year and do it all again, I would! Make friends and take time to learn what makes you happy; college is the perfect time to explore who you are.

Friends

Next year, when my Bobcat family is broken up across the United States, we will still have Athens and those experiences are irreplaceable.

Leave a Reply

