Creating a Motion-Sensing Alarm Clock

Adam Robertson

Adam Robertson,
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 24 February 2016

With Spring Break ahead and midterms behind, it’s now time to relax and finish up some of this semester’s projects. This semester I am taking a class called Mechatronics. This class is by far one of the most interesting and fun classes I have taken in college.

Each student must use an Arduino microcontroller to make some sort of device that completes a task. Since I have been hitting the snooze button in the morning too much recently, I decided to make a motion sensor alarm clock that will not stop buzzing until I walk out of my room.

After project proposals have been completed, we are paired up with a student from the ETM Department who is enrolled in a different class. Their role is to fabricate parts needed for the design using a 3-D printer.

For my alarm clock I will need a housing that is large enough to fit my circuit, microcontroller, and battery pack. I will also need it to have an opening so my motion sensor is able to detect whether or not I am walking out of my room.

In the class, there are a lot of different things that people are designing. Other projects include remote control cars, automatic pet feeders, and even a pneumatic Nerf gun!

I am really looking forward to see everyone’s project when they are completed. This is going to be a challenging and exciting project that will top off my senior year perfectly.

Leave a Reply

