Athensworks

Zach Perrault

Zach Perrault,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 15 March 2016

Last semester I participated in the Athens StartUp Weekend and won second place. One of the prizes our team won were several seats at Athensworks.

Athensworks

Athensworks is a local coworking space up on East Carpenter (just across from Family Dollar). Coworking spaces provide desks, conference rooms, nice chairs, and other people to work with for the self-employed and remote workers who might not have those things at home.

I first heard about Athensworks through the proverbial grapevine. I posted on a job board on Hacker News. A couple days later, an Athens native who works at Mavenlink in San Francisco reached out to me and introduced me to Ben Lachman, the founder of Athensworks.

Ben invited me to come to one of their monthly Hack Nights. At a Hack Night, anyone is welcome to stop by for some free pizza and to help build a project. Past Hack Night projects have been the Ohio Brew Week App and a pizza topping picker for large groups.

Since then my involvement with Athensworks has only increased. I started out only coming to a few Hack Nights. After StartUp Weekend I would work from Athensworks a couple days a week. And for the past six weeks I have been teaching a code school on Tuesday evenings.

The Code School class teaches JavaScript and is open to anyone in the community. Most of our students are local middle schoolers. It is very rewarding to give back to the community and share my passion for computer science with others.

Being a part of Athensworks is something I will really miss when I graduate. I have met a lot of great people and worked on a lot of fun things here.

Leave a Reply

