Summer in Milwaukee

Kevin 

White

Kevin White,
Senior, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 26 August 2016

This summer, I had the amazing opportunity to work for
FedEx Ground
as an Industrial Engineering Intern in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This was a life-changing experience for me because Milwaukee is 8 hours away from my home and I knew once I got up there, I wouldn’t be coming home until the end of summer.

I knew nobody in Wisconsin when arriving, so I really wanted to branch out, meet people, and have the best possible experience. This was a very similar situation to my freshman year at Ohio University because I knew I had to get out of my comfort zone and meet people.

I wanted to have the best experience in Milwaukee in and out of the workplace. Their winters are brutal up there with the snow and temperature, so in the summer, they sure know how to have fun in the outdoors. I have never seen so many beach volleyball courts in my life. My first couple games of volleyball were rough because I couldn’t even hit the ball over the net. I could tell that people were thinking, “Get this Ohio kid off my volleyball court!”

Not only did my beach volleyball skills improve, but my engineering skills also improved. I had a really great manager who got me involved in projects that applied many things learned in classes here at OU. This internship just validates my passion for Industrial Engineering and I cant wait for the future.

Finally, at the end of the summer, the Pittsburgh Pirates came to town and played the Milwaukee Brewers at Miller Park.

Pirates at Miller Park

Everybody who knows me knows I am a huge Pittsburgh sports fan. This was really cool to see my favorite team play at a different ballpark than I am used to in Pittsburgh. This summer was one to remember.

One thought on “Summer in Milwaukee

  1. Pingback: Moving to Pittsburgh | Engineering Ambassadors Blog

Leave a Reply

