Internship at Eastman Chemical

Joshua Greenlee

Joshua Greenlee,
Senior, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 29 August 2016

This summer, I had the privilege of accepting an internship at Eastman Chemical Company in Kingsport, Tennessee. The internship was offered through the American Chemical Society (ACS) and the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) which gives Junior Chemical Engineers and Chemistry majors the opportunity to participate in a 10-week paid internship at a Fortune 500 chemical company of their choosing. Below is a picture of all of Eastman’s Chemical Engineering interns from this summer.

Eastman Chemical Company -- Chemical Engineering Interns Summer 2016

When applying, I thought I had relatively no chance at receiving an opportunity so prestigious, but I decided to apply anyway and see what happened. To my surprise I was accepted, so I moved down to Tennessee for the summer.

At first I was a little nervous as I was in a foreign place and knew no one in a 300-mile radius, but before I knew it, I warmed up to my new home and quickly made some great friends.

I worked in Eastman’s Corporate Innovations department, researching new applications for some of their existing products. This opportunity allowed me to present my research and pitch new application ideas to marketing teams. I even had the opportunity to lead and coordinate cross regional meetings with Eastman branches in Asia.

It was incredible to see how a plant that big operated, and how so many people could work together for a common goal. This opportunity not only helped me grow as an engineer, but more importantly as a person. I met some of my very best friends this summer at Eastman, and had an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Leave a Reply

