Appreciating Architecture in Georgia

Jannat Al Barwani

Jannat Al Barwani,
Junior, Aviation Management

Athens, OH 30 August 2016

This summer, I went to Georgia (the country in Europe, not the state). I found Georgia pretty peaceful and wonderful for nature lovers.

When I was going around Georgia and exploring the beauty of it, I realized that it has a fascinating location between three countries and a diversity of Italian, Turkish, and Russian culture. In fact, those have affected the architecture of its buildings.

Georgia

The country has a combination between the old and modern life. For example, Tbilisi, which is the capital city of Georgia, has old forts and hoods in the middle of a modern city. They have many spectacular buildings that are designed by great architects.

Georgia

Although I saw many spectacular designs in Georgia, especially in Tbilisi, the churches there are the ones that have caught my attention the most. Not a day passed without me visiting a new church. Most of the churches I have visited were pretty old and have a fascinating design.

Georgia

I was amazed by the material that the churches are built from and how strong they are. That, for sure, shows how the civil engineering for those old churches were far more advanced than their times.

Georgia

The holy trinity cathedral of Tbilisi is the third tallest and the largest building in the world. That made me think how talented the civil engineers, who were included in construction of this church, are. They must have studied the geology of the place very well and had a great virtualization of the building. I went there only for a week, but until now I am still fascinated by the architecture there.

Leave a Reply

