Summer Co-op at Honda

Andrew Videmsek

Andrew Videmsek,
Junior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 31 August 2016

Over the summer, I had the opportunity to co-op with Honda North America at their Marysville, Ohio campus. I worked in a subdivision of their engineering center focused on replicating manufacturing processes for training purposes and for testing new technologies.

With this being my first co-op, I was nervous not knowing if I would be able to complete the tasks they had assigned for me. Within my first few days I quickly realized I had nothing to worry about. The projects assigned to me were most definitely a challenge, and required me to learn about systems that I had never seen before, but my mentor knew that, and provided me with every resource I needed to be successful.

The majority of my projects were related to developing equipment to accurately simulate different factory environments. I was tasked with the design, construction, programming, and implementation of this equipment. While doing this I got to work with people from many different backgrounds, all who helped me grow my skill-set. Additionally, I was working with equipment and software that are normally not taught in a school environment.

Now that I am back at Ohio University, I feel very fortunate I got the opportunity that I did. I was able to take the knowledge I learned in school, and apply that to real-world problems. There wasn’t a single day I didn’t learn something new, and I feel this co-op has put me in a better position moving forward into my engineering career.

Leave a Reply

