Setting up a New ETM Lab

Jacob Motts

Jacob Motts,
Senior, Engineering Technology & Management

Athens, OH 3 September 2016

This last summer I had the great pleasure of working in the Engineering Technology and Management labs under Ron Porter. It was a wonderful experience that allowed me to see the laboratories within Stocker Center, the main building of the Russ College, with a whole new level of appreciation.

Primarily, the job entailed maintenance and cleanup of the existing labs. I still remember the first project we had was blowing out and cleaning up the immense amount of sawdust that had accumulated in lab 009. This is the woodworking lab for ETM, and I was truly not prepared for how much sawdust I experienced in that first week and a half.

As the weeks went on through the summer, we also were tasked with some jobs needed to prepare the road for the new ETM capstone lab. Some of the back rooms were just a treasure of really interesting old projects and equipment. It surprised me to find some of the processes and equipment have remained relatively unchanged after so many years. Just as interesting were the discoveries so obsolete that we had trouble even figuring out what they were.

I find myself much more aware in the lab sessions of my classes. When work is finished I am so much more motivated to make sure not only my area is cleaned, but the whole lab that was being used. Largely, it was because I was able to see behind the curtain and witness the amount of work put into our wonderful university. At the end of the day, it was a very eye-opening experience that left me much more invested in my classes and Ohio University as a whole.

Leave a Reply

