Engineering and Video Production

Joe Meyer

Joe Meyer,
Junior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 11 September 2016

When I was in my senior year of high school, they offered a class on video production where I was able to learn about every part that went into a news broadcast. I was able to dive into the audio, camera work and the post production. We also did smaller projects such as making a music video, and shooting news packages. After learning all of this, I realized I loved the work I was doing.

Over the summer I worked a co-op at Rovisys in Aurora Ohio, and I started to find ways I could incorporate my appreciation of video production with engineering. I was able to work with senior engineers in different industries to make short productions about what their strengths were and what technologies they used. This gave the customers an in-depth viewpoint to what Rovisys could do and how it would be done.

At Ohio University, they recently partnered with ESPN3 to have a student production crew shoot all of the Football, Basketball, and Volleyball games. When I found out about the class in the summer, I knew I had to register for it. After meeting a couple times with the class so far, its been amazing to see all of the new equipment, production trailer, and funding they have put into it.

My future aspirations are to find ways to incorporate what I’ve learned from electrical engineering here at Ohio University, and incorporate that with videography.

Leave a Reply

