Summer Research in Copenhagen, Denmark

Nathan Arnett

Nathan Arnett,
Junior, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 16 September 2016

In my opinion, one of the greatest components of the Russ College and Ohio University in general is the approachability of the professors and staff. In Fall 2015, I went to my academic advisor, Dr. Gerardine Botte, and told her I really wanted to get a research internship abroad for the summer. She thought it was a good idea, and she put me in contact with Dr. John Kopchick because of his extensive network of colleagues overseas.

After meeting with Dr. Kopchick, we reached out to various researchers from all along the globe asking if they would be interested in hosting me. After weighing the options, we decided the best fit for me would be in Copenhagen, Denmark.

So this past summer, I was fortunate to spend two months at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Basic Metabolic Research! Being a Chemical Engineering student on the Biological Track, I felt that experience in a molecular biology lab would be very beneficial learning experience—and I was right. I gained a vast amount of knowledge and experience in the field and I’m excited to see how it helps me in the future.

All of my time wasn’t spent in the lab, however. I got plenty of free time to explore the city of Copenhagen, go to concerts, and meet incredible new people! Travelling is one of my favorite hobbies, and being able to do so through the helpfulness and approachability of the Ohio University faculty is a prime example of how valuable of a resource your professors can be.

Leave a Reply

